‘Everything you’ve ever wanted is on the other side of fear.’ – George Addair

As I sit here in my dressing gown at my mum’s house my mind is drawn back to my school years, some of the worst years of my life.

Tomorrow I face my fears and start my placement at an Academy school in South London.

When I left school I vowed I would never go back. I was never going to teach or work with children and I was going find a fantastic job in the Civil Service. It seems however that upon leaving university, I have gone full circle. Like the quote at the top of this post, I hope that by facing my fears I can not only exorcise my demons, but also achieve my goals. It is not instant, but a process, one which I start here. Now.

This blog is part of my Fellowship with Year Here, a postgraduate programme that give graduates a way into the social sector. It gives people such as myself, with leadership potential and a social conscience, the skills, experience and network to really succeed.

I am not a writer and I do not pretend to be one. I do however feel in a unique position to give a frank account of what I see, who I meet and hopefully tell some of the stories of those who can’t.

I am on this journey as much as you are, so here goes…

One thought on “‘Everything you’ve ever wanted is on the other side of fear.’ – George Addair

  1. Pingback: Guest Blog for Make:Good – A Journey of Learning | Sarah's Year Here

Leave a Reply

