Where have all the artists gone?

Some of the most influential and ground breaking people have also been the most creative. Albert Einstein said that he never made any discoveries as a result of rational thinking. Whatever the industry, in order to be ground breaking and to challenge the structures, you have to be creative and be able to think outside the box.

Until I started my fellowship with Year Here, I never really thought that I was that creative. Yes I have an A-level in textiles, but I got that by ticking the right boxes. I hit the right grading criteria. I never really had to think that much, I just had to follow the correct ‘recipe’ for success. It is only now that I have started to realise that my creativity is not in my ability to draw or paint, but that I see the gaps in things. I almost subconsciously look at a process, concept or idea, consider it and think about how I could apply myself to working with it and improving it. This is part of my nature, and yet why has it only come out now? Why did it not come out at school, or at university. When I was very young I loved to create things but as I grew up I lost that urge, not because I didn’t still enjoy it, but because I saw it as a waste of my time when I could be doing other things such as homework or practicing for my music and dance exams. I was focused on being successful which somehow didn’t fit with my creative side…

Today thanks to my mentor I read a very interesting blog post which asked ‘Can any school foster pure creativity?‘ and this really got me thinking. I find it amazing that the American Psychiatric Association sees many of the characteristics that are associated with creativity, such as being impulsive and taking risks, are considered to be symptoms of ADHD. How can anyone, especially a child, be expected to see the value of creativity if it is associated with a psychological disorder? As well as this our system of structured examinations and the focus of the syllabus on those exams seems to leave little room for creativity. In doing some research looking at marking criteria and exam reports I was saddened to find that it explicitly stated that some student’s answers were regarded as overenthusiastic and so moved away from the passage ‘into creative territory’. As a result of this, these answers would never hit the ‘top grades’. Why is this that students must forgo their creative side in order to succeed? Especially when some of the most successful people are also the most creative.

So what is the solution?

Cevin Soling suggests that the education system needs completely reinventing and whilst there are some schools that do this, they are also not necessarily the answer. Unfortunately in this realm, there can be no mistakes. My education was messed with hugely due to different governmental policies being introduced on a yearly basis, as a result there are definite gaps in my knowledge base. I worry that the lessening importance of ‘soft subjects’ such as drama and art will create a generation of rule followers. I am not saying that students should be able to run free because I see education as a hugely important and an empowering part of life. I do however think that we should be nurturing the entirety of an individual, because we are, after all, individuals. We all have different strengths and weaknesses and for emphasis to be placed on certain ones creates a divide between those who can, and those who cannot.

Almost everybody is creative in some form whether it is through the artistic medium or in their ability to design application and create code. There needs to be provision for this as well as the ‘necessary’ subjects.

Leave a Reply

